Latest Breaking News & Recent Headlines Updates in Realtime From USA,UK,AUS & All Over The World.

Google Maps’ new ‘immersive view’ lets you explore neighborhoods virtually

- Advertisement -

Even if you’ve turned off Location History, Google often saves your exact location.

Here’s how to remove those marks and some best practices for keeping your location as private as possible.

But there is no panacea because simply connecting to the internet on any device will highlight an IP address that can be geographically mapped.

Smartphones also connect to cell towers, so your carrier knows your general location at all times.

Turn off tracking on any device

Start your browser and go to myactivity.google.com† You must be signed in to Google.

In the drop-down menu at the top left, go to ‘Activity checks’. Turn off both Web & App Activity and Location History.

That should prevent accurate location markers from being saved to your Google account.

Google warns you that some of its services won’t work as well if these settings are turned off.

In particular, neither the Google Assistant, a digital concierge, nor the Google Home smart speaker will be particularly useful.

on iOS

If you’re using Google Maps, adjust your location setting to “While using” the app. This will prevent the app from accessing your location when it is not running.

Go to Settings Privacy Location Services and select Google Maps there to make the adjustment.

In the Safari web browser, consider using a search engine other than Google.

Under Safari Search Engine Settings, you will find other options such as Bing or DuckDuckGo.

You can disable the location while browsing by going to Settings Privacy Location Services Safari Websites and setting it to ‘Never’.

This still doesn’t stop advertisers from knowing your raw location based on the IP address on a website.

You can also almost completely disable Location Services on the device via Settings Privacy Location Services.

Both Google Maps and Apple Maps still work, but they don’t know where you are on the map and can’t give you directions.

Rescuers can still find you if needed.

On Android

Under the main settings icon, click on ‘Security & Location’. Scroll down to the ‘Privacy’ heading. Tap “Location.” You can disable it for the whole device.

Use ‘App-Level Permissions’ to disable access to various apps.

Unlike the iPhone, there is no ‘While Using’ setting.

You can’t disable Google Play services, which pass your location to other apps, if you leave that service on.

Sign in as a “guest” on your Android device by swiping from top to bottom and tapping the downward-facing cursor, then the trunk icon again.

Know which services you sign in to, such as Chrome. You can also change the search engines, even in Chrome.

To remove previous location tracking on any device

On the page myactivity.google.comlook for an item with a location pin icon next to the word “details.”

Clicking that will bring up a window with a link that sometimes says “From your current location.”

Clicking on it will open Google Maps, which will show you where you were at the time.

You can remove it from this popup by clicking on the navigation icon with the three stacked dots and then on ‘Remove’.

Some items are grouped in unexpected places, such as topic names, google.com, Search, or Maps.

You have to delete them item by item. You can wholesale delete all items by date ranges or by service, but you’ll end up deleting more than just location markers.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.